Customer Service 703-661-1594

Hay for My Ox and Other Stories

A First Reading Book for Waldorf Schools

November 2012
More details
  • Publisher
    Floris Books
  • Published
    15th November 2012
  • ISBN 9780863159138
  • Language English
  • Pages 104 pp.

This classic early-reading book for Waldorf schools contains stories and poems that range in style and content from the fairytale elements of Class 1 (ages 6 to 7) to the legends and animal fables introduced in Class 2 (ages 7 to 8).

Rhythmic repetition of words, sounds, and phrases is used throughout the book, but especially frequently in the tales for younger children.

C O N T E N T S:

Hay for My Ox — Isabel Wyatt
Brother Ox and Brother Ass — Isabel Wyatt
The Hare — translated by Rose Fyleman
Where Go the Boats? — R. L. Stevenson
The Prince Who Kept Pigs — Isabel Wyatt
Mark and His Lamp — Isabel Wyatt
Ripe Plums in Spring — Gesta Romanorum (medieval)
Spring — William Blake
Some One — Walter de la Mare
The Elves’ Dance — Anonymous
The Tree of Three Cries — Celtic Legend
How Sheep Got Sheep Bells — Old Legend
The Giant and the Child — Old Legend
Two Prayers of Olden Days — Anonymous
King Vincent and Lord Tom-Tit — Isabel Wyatt
Do Not Go into the Wood — Indian Fable
The Cuckoo — Anonymous
May Day — Anonymous
The Caterpillar — Christina Rossetti
The Rain — William H. Davies
The Fork-tail and the Rams — Indian Fable
King Cackle — Indian Fable
The Monkey and the Pea — Indian Fable
Old Riddles — Anonymous

Isabel Wyatt

Isabel Wyatt (1901–1992) was born in England and spent many years teaching young children. Until her retirement in 1965, she was codirector of studies at Hawkwood College, Gloucestershire. She wrote numerous books for children.